This project will offer a number of opportunities for public participation in the planning and design process.

  • Participate in the Community-wide Input Meeting in early September, and the Community-wide Design Forum Meeting in January 2009.
  • Speak with a member of the Task Force Committee (see roster below)
  • Provide us your comments using this website. Please visit the “Contact Us” page to share your ideas and concerns or provide feedback by contacting us. Your comments, questions or concerns will be reviewed by the Weinstein Studio project manager

Task Force Committee

At the time that Barracks Row Main Street decided to fund and initiate a design study for the Capitol Hill Town Square, a commitment was made to ensure deep and extensive community involvement in the planning process. In order to accomplish this, other Capitol Hill community organizations and constituency representatives were asked to participate in a task force. The Task Force serves as the primary community group to interact with the Urban Design Team and appropriate officials involved in the decision process regarding use of the square.

The role of the Task Force will be:

  • to identify important issues that the community feels need to be addressed in the project;
  • to help promote public involvement;
  • to assist in the planning, facilitation and debriefing of public forums;
  • to provide guidance regarding project design and project compatibility with the Capitol Hill Community;
  • to monitor the project’s overall progress and schedule.

The Task Force is chaired by Tip Tipton. The following is a list of the Task Force members and their affiliated organizations.

Task Force Committee - Member List

Sharon Ambrose Member at Large
Don Denton Barracks Row Main Street
Seth Shapiro Market Row Street Merchants Association
Ray Gooch Grace Church Residents
John Gordon Barracks Row Main Street
Ken Jarboe Advisory Neighborhood Commission/Capitol Hill SE (ANC 6B)
Norma Wright Eastern Market Metro Community Association (EMMCA)
Margaret Missiaen 600 Block S. Carolina Avenue Residents
Julie Olson Advisory Neighborhoor Commission/Capitol Hill SE (ANC 6B)
David Perry Barracks Row Main Street
Susan Perry Capitol Hill Business Improvement District (BID)
Donna Scheeder Eastern Market Community Advisory Committee
Harry Schnipper Capitol Hill Association of Merchants and Professionals
Kate Sylvester 400 Block 7th Street SE Residents
Tip Tipton Barracks Row Main Street
Dick Wolf Capitol Hill Restoration Society

back to top »